Warren Hill presents the 2016 Rayner Medal Lecture: ‘Improving intraocular lens power calculations’

Posted on 4/11/2016

With his innovative approach to measuring biometry, it probably came as no surprise to many that the honour of presenting the 2016 Rayner Medal Lecture was awarded to Dr Warren Hill.

United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (UKISCRS) Secretary Satish Srinivasan explains, “UKISCRS was delighted to invite Dr. Warren Hill from Mesa, Arizona, USA to present the prestigious Rayner Medal Lecture at the 40th Annual congress of the UKISCRS in London on the 21st of October 2016.

Dr. Hill is a well-recognised name in the field of intraocular lens power calculations and has made a tremendous contribution in this field. He has been instrumental in developing the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery online calculator for calculating IOL power in eyes with prior refractive surgery and the development of the new and exciting Hill – RBF formula for IOL power calculation based on artificial intelligence.”

To mark this occasion Rayner National Sales Manager Richard Thompson had the privilege of presenting the Rayner medal to the renowned surgeon.

A highlight in the Education Program, the Rayner Medal Lecture is an important link between Rayner and UKISCRS. In 1978 the UK Intraocular Implant Society (UKIIS) – the forerunner to the UKISCRS – invited Rayner to sponsor a special lecture to be given every two years at a Society meeting. The Rayner Medal Lecture is one of three prestigious Medal Lectures: the other two being the Choyce Medal Lecture and Pearce Medal Lecture, each of which throughout the years have been presented by many of the world’s leading authorities on intraocular lenses and other aspects of cataract and refractive surgery.

Dr Warren Hill joins an illustrious group; the Rayner Medalists of previous years are as follows:

  • 1979 Miles A Galin
  • 1980 Neil L Dallas
  • 1982 Robert C Drews
  • 1984 Michael J Roper-Hall
  • 1986 Jan G F Worst
  • 1988 John Marshall
  • 1990 Christophe Huber
  • 1992 George Waring III
  • 1994 Robert Osher
  • 1996 I. Howard Fine
  • 1998 Douglas Koch
  • 2000 David J. Apple
  • 2002 Jorge Alio
  • 2004 Marguerite McDonald
  • 2006 Steve Arshinoff
  • 2008 José L. Güell
  • 2010 Mr D F Chang
  • 2012 Mr R Zaldivar
  • 2014 Harminder Singh Dua

Warren E. Hill MD, FACS
Warren E Hill is the Medical Director of East Valley Ophthalmology in Mesa, Arizona. He has delivered more than 550 presentations to ophthalmic societies both in the United States and internationally in 36 countries and on six continents. Other career highlights include:

• 117 Publications
• 21 Eponymous Lectures
• American College of Surgeons Fellow
• American College of Eye Surgeons Fellow
• American Academy of Ophthalmology Fellow
• International College of Surgeons Fellow
• American Board of Eye Surgery Board of Directors
• International Intra-Ocular Implant Club Member
• American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Member
• Arizona Ophthalmological Society Member
• Phoenix Ophthalmological Society Member

Warren Hill has been a Consultation Section contributor and article reviewer for the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, Ophthalmology, the British Journal of Ophthalmology, the Journal of Refractive Surgery, and the British on-line journal BMC Ophthalmology.

For a full profile of Warren Hill please click here 

Share this article